A Healthier Smash Cake

20150927_1710092I can not believe my daughter is turning 2 tomorrow! Seriously, how has it already been 1 year since we celebrated her first birthday?! In honor of her birthday, I thought this was a fitting time to share last year’s healthier smash cake recipe. Being the somewhat-of-a-health-conscious protective mama bear that I am (especially during my little ones 1st year), I opted against a traditional sugar-filled smash cake for a naturally delicious, no sugar, banana smash cake. At that point she had yet to experience her first sugar, and I kind of wanted to keep it that way! Being so young and not yet asking for sweets, I decided to hold off on introducing all that sweet stuff for as long as possible.

Since I’m not much of a baker, I turned to Google to find the perfect smash cake for my little darling. After trying a few different recipes, I decided on the following Healthy Smash Cake for Baby’s 1st Birthday by Our HavenHill – and she absolutely loved it! Here’s the delightful recipe I found:

Healthy Smash Cake

Ingredients:

  • 4 or 5 ripe bananas
  • 3/4 cup natural no sugar added applesauce
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

Frosting:

  • 1 cup (8 ounces) cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup (4 ounces) no sugar added apple juice concentrate
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Mash the bananas in a medium bowl.
  2. In a separate large bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and nutmeg together.
  3. Add the mashed bananas, applesauce, and vanilla to the flour mixture. Mix just until incorporated.
  4. Spray your 8 or 9″round pans with non-stick cooking spray or coat with butter and flour. (I used a mini cake pan instead)
  5. Spread the batter into the bottom of both pans.
  6. Bake at 400° for 20 minutes.
  7. Cool the cakes, then use overturned smaller bowl to cut out small cake rounds.

For the Frosting:

  1. Soften the cream cheese.
  2. Whisk the cream cheese with the apple juice concentrate and vanilla extract until creamy.
  3. Best if frosted freshly since there may be browning due to lack of preservatives.

However, for this year’s birthday, I’m not going to be as healthy. Now that my daughter has definitely found her sweet tooth and I barely seem to find the time cook, let alone bake, I’m just going to buy her a yummy mini cake from Whole Foods instead. Hopefully, it’ll be as big of a hit as last year’s healthy smash cake! 😉

Be Well,

Ashley

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑